Holiday Collection Schedule

Except for weeks that include a holiday, the City collects household trash on Mondays and Tuesdays and collects recycling on Thursdays and Fridays. To find out which day your household trash and your recycling is collected, click here.

If a holiday falls on Monday, Monday’s household trash is collected on Tuesday and Tuesday’s household trash is collected on Wednesday. Similarly, if a holiday falls on a Friday, Thursday’s recycling will be collected on Wednesday and Friday’s collection will be collected on Thursday.

As well, from the first week of March to the first week of December, the city collects yard waste on what is commonly called Green Wednesdays. But on weeks that include a holiday, Wednesdays are needed for household trash or recycling collections. Therefore, there is no Green Wednesday yard waste collection during a holiday week.
 
Special bulk collections are normally scheduled Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. During holiday weeks, however, bulk collection schedules may be limited. Please keep this in mind when planning your bulk collection requests.

2019 Holiday Collection Schedule

New Year's Day
(Tuesday, January 1)
Monday collection remains unchangedTuesday collection is
Wednesday, January 2
Martin Luther King Day
(Monday, January 21)
Monday collection is Tuesday, January 22Tuesday collection is
Wednesday, January 23
President's Day
(Monday, February 18)
Monday collection is Tuesday, February 19Tuesday collection is
Wednesday, February 20
Good Friday
(Friday, April 19)
Thursday collection is Wednesday, April 17Friday collection is
Thursday, April 18
Memorial Day
(Monday, May 27)
Monday collection is Tuesday, May 28Tuesday collection is
Wednesday, May 29
Independence Day
(Thursday, July 4)
Thursday collection is Wednesday, July 3Friday collection remains unchanged
Labor Day
(Monday, September 2)
Monday collection is Tuesday, September 3Tuesday collection is
Wednesday, September 4
Thanksgiving Day
(Thursday, November 28)
Thursday collection is Wednesday, November 27Friday collection remains unchanged
Christmas Day
(Wednesday, December 25)
No collection changes

Alternately, you may download the 2019 Holiday Collection Schedule

Additional Information

For further information, please call the Department of Public Works and Water Resources at 302-366-7000.