2020 City Election Information - Updated July 28, 2020

The city election for Council Districts 3 and 5 was on Tuesday, July 28, 2020.

Unofficial Results

District 3
Candidate   Machine  Absentee  Total
 Bancroft 50  239  289 
 Sinibaldi 49  135  184 
 Total 99  376  475 

District 5
 Candidate  Machine  Absentee  Total
 Anderson 16  69  85 
 Lawhorn 73  339  412 
 Total 90   409 499 

Polling Locations

Polls open at 7:00 a.m. and close at 8:00 p.m. The polling places for the election are as follows:

  • District 3 - West Park Place Elementary School, 193 W. Park Place
  • District 5 - First Presbyterian Church, Memorial Hall, 292 W. Main Street
Need help identifying your district? View the Election Polling Places application here!
The City of Newark Election Polling Places application helps citizens locate their election polling place and obtain information about current elected officials. To locate a polling place, simply click on the map or enter an address in the search box. The polling place and respective voting precinct will then be highlighted on the map and information about the polling place will appear in a pop-up box on the page. For an instructional video on how to operate the polling place application, click here. The Polling Place application has been updated.

A form of identification will be required of all voters and masks are required for anyone age 13 and over who is entering the polling place. For absentee ballots, please contact the City Secretary's Office at (302) 366-7000.

Candidate Qualifications

In order to run for Council Member in Districts 3, 5 and 6, candidates must meet the following requirements:
  • You must have resided in the city for at least one year preceding the election.
  • You must be a qualified voter of the city in the Council district you wish to represent.
  • You must not have been convicted of a felony for a period of 15 years preceding the election as that crime is designated by the State of Delaware.
  • You must file a nominating petition with the City Secretary's office with a minimum of 10 signatures of qualified voters residing in the district which the candidate is seeking election by 5:00 p.m. on February 10, 2020.
The filing deadline for the 2020 Council election has now passed.

Filed Candidates

The following candidates have filed for the office of District 3 Council member for a two-year term: 
  • Jay Bancroft, 715 Art Lane, 661-369-6237, jsb95003@gmail.com
  • Anthony Sinibaldi, 810 Lehigh Road, 302-266-0818, zippo249@comcast.net
The following candidates have filed for the office of District 5 Council member for a two-year term: 
  • Brian K. Anderson, 309 Meriden Drive, 302-513-2958, bkadec5@gmail.com
  • Jason Lawhorn, 812 Hilltop Road, 302-388-8598, lawhornfornewark@gmail.com
The following candidates have filed for the office of District 6 Council member for a two-year term: 
  • Gordon Hendry - Withdrawn as of February 10, 2020
  • Travis McDermott, 315 Amoroso Way, 302-530-4016, travismcd8@gmail.com
Since Travis McDermott is unopposed, he will be declared elected by the Election Board per Section 10-19 of the City Code and he will assume the District 6 Council member position as of the August 6, 2020 Council organizational meeting.

Information regarding the candidates can be found in the following media sources:
Additional links will be posted as stories are published by media outlets.

Voter Registration

*** To vote in the July 28, 2020 election, you must be registered by Monday, July 6, 2020. ***

Requirements to Vote

  • You must be at least 18 years old by Election Day.
  • You must be a U.S. citizen.
  • You must have established residency in the city for at least 24 days prior to the election.
Any individual who is at least 18 years old and is registered to vote with the State of Delaware at a residence within the corporate limits of the City of Newark is eligible to vote. If you are unsure if you are registered, please call the City Secretary’s office at (302) 366-7000 and a staff member can look up your registration. You may register to vote through the State Department of Elections here.

Request an Absentee Ballot

The City strongly encourages City residents to vote via absentee ballot for the July 28, 2020 Council elections due to the COVID-19 State of Emergency. Absentee ballot affidavits and a cover letter detailing instructions were mailed to every registered voter in Districts 3 and 5 in March and June. The final deadline for returning completed affidavits is Friday, July 24. All completed absentee ballots must be returned to the City Secretary’s Office no later than 8:00 p.m. the day of the election.

Working at the Polls

The City of Newark is looking for City residents who would like to work at the polling places. Workers must be available from 6:00 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. on the day of the election as well as for a training to be scheduled in the week prior to the election. Payment ranges from $150 to $185 for workers depending on the role to which they are assigned plus an additional $50 for attending training prior to the election. Lunch is also provided.

For more information, please contact the City Secretary's Office at 302-366-7000 or citysecretary@newark.de.us.

More Information

If you have specific questions about city elections, you may call the City Secretary's Office at (302) 366-7000. For further information, you may call the New Castle County Department of Elections at (302) 577-3464.

Election Calendar

January 28, 2020, 5:30 p.m. - Election Board organizational meeting.

February 10, 2020, 5:00 p.m. - Filing deadline for candidates for Council Members in Districts 3, 5 and 6.

February 25, 2020, 5:30 p.m. - Election Board meeting

July 6, 2020 - Deadline to register to vote in the July 28, 2020 city election.

July 27, 2020, 2:00 p.m. - Election Board meeting to begin processing absentee ballots; Ballots will not be counted at this meeting

July 28, 2020, 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. - Election Day 

July 28, 2020, 5:00 p.m. - Absentee judges begin counting absentee ballots

July 30, 2020, 5:00 p.m. - Election Board certification meeting

August 6, 2020 - Organizational meeting for the swearing in of new Council members