Planning Commission

About the Commission

The Planning Commission makes recommendations to city council concerning:
  • Annexations
  • Rezoning of Property
  • Subdivision
  • Development Approvals
  • Zoning Code and Subdivision Regulations Amendments
  • Adoption and Amendment of Comprehensive Plans
  • Demolitions of Historic Buildings
  • Municipal Capital Expenditures
The commission also makes determinations on requests for off-street parking requirement waivers. The commission's advice to the city council, except in the case of parking waivers, is always in the form of a recommendation; City Council may also hear appeals of, review, modify or deny the commission's approval, disapproval or approval with conditions of off-street parking waivers upon the recommendation of a member of Council, Planning and Development Director and/or the City Manager.

The elected city council makes all final decisions on land development and comprehensive planning matters.View the commission's submission deadlines.

Member Selection

The Planning Commission consists of seven members. Six commissioners, one from each of the six districts into which the city has been divided for election purposes, are nominated by city council members from the districts they represent. One at-large commissioner is nominated by the mayor. The commissioners are appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by city council, for three year terms.

At its first meeting each year following September 16th, the commission elects a chair and vice-chair to preside over commission meetings, and also elects a commission secretary.